NaNoWriMo 2011 and (Possible) Survival

1 Nov

Hey all–

Sorry about the technical difficulties in my last post. I finally gave up after (wait for it) about 5 tries. WordPress just didn’t like that post. Or my internet connection didn’t. Or something.

Anywho. This year I am trying something totally new and different…NaNoWriMo! (For those of you who aren’t “in the know,” NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month.) That’s right. November is National Novel Writing Month. The idea is, you write an entire novel in a month. Quality doesn’t necessarily matter at this point, because just like October is unofficial planning month, December and January are the unofficial editing months. The point is to prove that a normal person can in fact write a full-length novel in a month. They even have a website (well, two–one for young writers and one for adults) where you can track your progress online.

You set a word-count goal at the beginning, unless you’re on the adult site, in which case your goal is immediately 50,000 words in a month. (50k is about your typical 200-page novel.) The kids can choose whatever goal they want to. There are some pretty crazy people out there (whom I admire greatly) who have chosen 60k, 70k, or even 100k words as their word-count goal! This being my first year, I stuck to 50,000. Next year I may try for something higher, that is, if I survive this month.

So why aren’t I writing my novel right now? Um, that’s a great question. I felt the overwhelming need to update my blog. And I also am the slightest bit stumped. For about the 5th time in the past 17 hours. Because, yes. I am one of those crazy people who begged her mother to let her stay up till midnight on Halloween/November 1st so that I could start writing as soon as NaNoWriMo began. So I was up until 2:30 am last night. As my parents know, I probably would have stayed up later if they had not told me not to. (Did that make any sense?) My point is, the only reason I got any sleep at all is because they told me to get off the computer at 2:30 am. Not that they were up. But they set it up so that I had to get off. (Don’t worry, I wouldn’t disobey you guys on something like that, at least not intentionally.)

My survival strategies this year include mentally and/or verbally yelling at my characters, and bribing myself with chocolate every 1,000 words. Also locking away my internal editor. The woman with a slightly pinched expression, a pencil skirt, a red pen, red heels, a pearl necklace, horn-rimmed glasses, and a slightly nasal, very annoying voice. She is currently elsewhere, reading the worst book ever: Twilight. Because it needs some major editing. I have also locked up my other characters that are not in this story because, let’s face it, otherwise they are going to drive me crazy.

If there are any fellow NaNoers reading this, you can find me on the youth website–my username is Paperclipgirl.

Well, there’s my random spiel on NaNo. (An abbreviation for the abbreviation.) Did this confirm your suspicions that I am nowhere near sane?I hope so. Because if you think I am sane, then you need help.

Wow. 544 words. So why am I having problems with my novel? (Make that 550-something.)

Well, over and out,

<3 Paperclip101
I love to get feedback, so please, comment away!!!

