Mission Trip Day 3

26 Aug

Day 3 Verse:

Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ. ~Romans 10:17

By the third day, I was super, super, super attached to the Othello kids. And not only did I have stronger bonds with the kids we were ministering to, but I was noticing just how much closer I was to the kids in the youth group (and the other kids on the trip with us). It’s like all of the teamwork really formed bonds between us that are super strong. It was so cool!

We started the morning once again with an early morning swim, then had breakfast and devotions, all that normal “preparation stuff” (including getting my hair French-braided by one of my friends!), and, finally, set off for “Discovery City”. Our work was mainly weeding and picking up glass–and I’ll admit it, my hands were getting sore from weeding and glass-pick-upping was getting pretty tedious.

We had lunch with the same people who provided for us on the first day, and their homemade tacos and fruit salad was a great way to get rejuvenated and ready to prepare our lessons. After preparing, which took a while, we went for an afternoon swim. We played Ninja on the dock–and whoever was “out” had to jump into the lake. The winner got to push the loser into the lake. So the stakes were pretty high 🙂

Anywho, while we were at VBS, our youth pastor’s wife got to play nurse to one of the Othello kids. Her toe was really badly cut open, and she was wandering around in sandals! It looked really painful, but this brave 4-year-old didn’t even cry when hydrogen peroxide was put onto the wound.

Things for the most part went pretty well during VBS; although we had a long discussion about gangs during crafts (we were making bandanas). These kids are raised hating the kids from a nearby neighborhood. They say they have to fight to protect themselves. No kid should ever have to deal with that!

My Bible lesson didn’t seem to be starting very well, as half my kids were gone (Bible lesson? Boring! Let’s leave!) and only a quarter of those left were paying attention. However, one kid broke the ice by asking “Did God create the Devil?” and instantly all eyes were on me.

Did God create the Devil? That’s a hard question, kid. (It is always my group that gets the hard questions! When I’m teaching!) I knew the  answer, but as to how to explain it to a group of rowdy kids that English wasn’t even their first language–I was stuck. Thankfully, the guy I was working with (he’s like 2 years older than I am and has dealt with the whole teaching thing longer) jumped in and explained the whole Lucifer-fallen-angel thing to these kids. He explained it waaaaaay better than I could have, and he didn’t even seem fazed by the question! I’ve got a lot to learn…

Anyway, after that, we had less distractions and the kids paid better attention–especially during the actual Gospel part of the lesson. For that, I was really thankful. Coincidence? I think not. God knows what he’s doing.

It made me feel good that even though I struggled through the lesson that day, the kids got something out of it. And you know? I think throughout the trip I learned as much as or more than the kids did. God is just that incredible.

Well, that’s really all that’s important on Day 3. We also went to a Mexican ice cream shop and had smoothies and got really hyper, but that’s kind of beside the point.

I said in my journal that night, “It’s going to be so hard to say goodbye to these kids. It really is. I almost don’t want to leave Othello–I could stay here a long time.”

I love to get feedback, so please, comment away!!!

